Guide to Tipitaka
Samyutta Nikaya

This collection of discourses in the Suttanta Pi¥aka known as Saµyutta Nikæya has 7,762 suttas of varied length, generally short, arranged in a special order according to subject matter into five major divisions: (a) Sagæthæ Vagga, (b) Nidæna Vagga, (c) Khandha Vagga, (d) Sa¹æyatana Vagga and (e) Mahæ Vagga. Each major vagga is divided into fifty-six groups known as saµyuttas - related subjects grouped together.

The saµyuttas are named after the subjects they deal with, for example, Bojjha³ga Saµyutta on the Seven Factors of Enlightenment, or after some principal personalities such as the Venerable Særiputta, King Pasenadi of Kosala, or Sakka. Kosala Saµyutta is a group of discourses concerning King Pasenadi of Kosala, and Devata Saµyutta deals with devas like Sakka, Indra, Brahmæ, etc.

Each saµyutta is further divided into sections which are made up of individual suttas. Thus the well-known Dhammacakkappavattana Sutta is the first discourse (sutta) in the second section of Sacca Saµyutta which comes under the Mahævagga division of Saµyutta Nikæya. In the following excerpts from Saµyutta Nikæya, only a few suttas representing each major division are given.

Samyutta Nikâya - five major divisions:

(a) Sagâthâ Vagga Samyutta Pâli
(b) Nidâna Vagga Samyutta Pâli
(c) Khandha Vagga Samyutta Pâli
(d) Salâyatana Vagga Saµyutta Pâli
(e) Mahâ Vagga Samyutta Pâli

© Buddha Dharma Education Association > home > back